• ACADEMICSACADEMICS
 

Parenting Center


Parenting Center


The Parenting Center of Lexington School District One serves families with preschool aged children that are zoned to attend one of our schools. The Parenting Center uses a nationally-certified, evidence-based curriculum, Parents as Teachers, that is designed to serve parents of children at various age levels: prenatal through age 5.

Families receive support through weekly visits to homes and in our school-based centers, in addition to attending group connections in our community. Our goal is to empower parents to become their child's first and most influential teacher, leading to later school success.

Parenting Center team The parenting center is made up of several different components to meet the individual needs of all families in Lexington One. Those include:

• Bilingual Program
• Teen Parenting Program 
• Adult Education/Family Literacy Collaborative

Please visit our Parenting Center blog for helpful resources from our parent educators.


MEET THE STAFF

Marla Hamilton

Marla Hamilton,
Lead Parent Educator
mhamilton@lexington1.net

 

Joyce Horres

Joyce Horres,
Early Care Educator​
jhorres@lexington1.net



     
Gigi Towers
Gigi Towers,
Parent Educator

gtowers@lexington1.net

  Maria Arroyo

Maria Arroyo,
Parent Educator
marroyo@lexington1.net

         
Chanta Zeigler

Chanta Zeigler,
Parent Educator
czeigler@lexington1.net

  Rosalinda Contreras

Rosalinda Contreras,
Early Care Educator
rcontreras@lexington1.net

         


AWARDS

2017 Parents as Teachers Quality Endorsement and Improvement Process (Blue Ribbon Affiliate)
2018 Parent Educator of the Year: Maria E. Arroyo, Ph.D.
2018 LOSOS Prize for Innovation



ADULT EDUCATION / FAMILY LITERACY CONNECTION

Family Literacy Handbook
Adult Education

HELPFUL LINKS

4–year–old Kindergarten
Lexington County First Steps
ICAN.SC – skills needed for a quality kindergarten program
Lexington Main Library
Dolly Parton Imagination Library
Ready Rosie

follow us on twitter Follow us on Twitter