• ACADEMICSACADEMICS
 

Parenting Center


Parenting Center


The Parenting Center of Lexington School District One serves families with preschool aged children that are zoned to attend one of our schools. The Parenting Center uses a nationally-certified, evidence-based curriculum, Parents as Teachers, that is designed to serve parents of children at various age levels: prenatal through age 5.

Families receive support through weekly visits to homes and in our school-based centers, in addition to attending group connections in our community. Our goal is to empower parents to become their child's first and most influential teacher, leading to later school success.

Parenting Center team The parenting center is made up of several different components to meet the individual needs of all families in Lexington One. Those include:

• Bilingual Program
• Teen Parenting Program 
• Adult Education/Family Literacy Collaborative

Please visit our Parenting Center blog for helpful resources from our parent educators.


MEET THE STAFF

 

Marla Hamilton

 


Marla Hamilton,
Lead Parent Educator
mhamilton@lexington1.net

 

Maria Arroyo

 


Maria Arroyo,
Parent Educator
marroyo@lexington1.net

Joyce Horris

 


Joyce Horris,
Early Care Educator
jhorris@lexington1.net

 

Liu Qing Yuan

 


Qingyuan Liu,
Family Literacy Assistant
qliu@lexington1.net

Ewa Przeplasko

 


Ewa Przeplasko,
Early Care Educator
eprzeplasko@lexington1.net

  Gigi Towers  


Gigi Towers,
Parent Educator
gtowers@lexington1.net

Chanta Zeigler  

 

Chanta Zeigler,
Parent Educator
czeigler@lexington1.net 

     


 


AWARDS

2017 Parents as Teachers Quality Endorsement and Improvement Process (Blue Ribbon Affiliate)
2018 Parent Educator of the Year: Maria E. Arroyo, Ph.D.
2018 LOSOS Prize for Innovation