Educational Foundation

As a source of growth and support for Lexington School District One, our new Educational Foundation logo superbly illustrates our mission to support the educational process and enrich the quality of life in our community by raising and managing funds. Through gifts from our many terrific partners, we plant seeds in our district that bloom into amazing educational opportunities for our students. Thank you for your personal support of Lexington One through your gifts to the Educational Foundation!

Facebook Logo   Twitter Logo   Instagram Logo

Click here to donate through Paypal.


Did you realize that you could make a charitable gift to the Lexington One Educational Foundation anytime? Make a gift today to support Lexington One students and special initiatives funded by the Foundation. 

You can also become a part of a great global day of philanthropy and kick off the charitable season by making a financial gift to the Educational Foundation on Tuesday, November 27, 2018 for #GivingTuesday #GivingSCHOOLSDay! Donate to the Foundation to support our schools, educational programs, teachers and students here in Lexington School District One! Thank you in advance for remembering all of the blessings provided in our district through our dedicated teachers and staff!

All gifts are tax deductible, as the Foundation is a charitable
non-profit 501(c)3 organization (Tax ID 57-1025465). It’s only through your most generous support that we are able to fund such amazing things like grants for teachers and schools, STEM labs, student scholarships and so much more! Make your charitable gift today to show your personal support of Lexington One students, teachers and schools!


Our History

The Lexington County School District One Educational Foundation was formed in 1994 as a 501(c)(3) organization to serve as a source of funds to support district programs and initiatives that are outside the scope of the district’s Annual Fund budget. The Educational Foundation is governed by a board of directors made up of district school board members, representatives from local businesses, civic organizations, the district superintendent, the district teacher of the year, and community citizens.

The first meeting of the newly formed Educational Foundation was held on September 17, 1995. James A. Compton, Michael S. Wingard, Michael V. Shealy, Dr. Lon Hamby, and Richard Hook were appointed as the founding members of the Board of Directors. Michael V. Shealy served as the first Educational Foundation board chairman.

The board members have grown from the original five members to the present twenty-four members. The current Teacher of the Year automatically serves for one year. In February 2003, the bylaws were amended and Connie McFarland was named as the first Executive Director of the Educational Foundation. The Educational Foundation Board of Directors meets throughout the school year and holds special meetings as deemed necessary.

Since its inception, the Educational Foundation has been a continuously growing and evolving support arm of the district. The alternative sources of funding generated through the Educational Foundation have been focused on grants to programs and initiatives that enhance the quality of educational experiences for students in Lexington School District One.

Among the many district initiatives supported by the Educational Foundation are a number of partial college scholarships offered annually for students who desire to continue their education. Most of these scholarships have been made possible from community, organizational, and individual contributions to the Educational Foundation.

A more in-depth look at the history of the Educational Foundation is available.

Educational Foundation Board

Executive Committee

  • Mr. Simeon M. Bryant, Chair
  • Mrs. Rosemary L. Wilson, Vice–Chair
  • Mr. Roger S. Kuperman, Secretary/Treasurer
    • Mrs. Hayley D. Bowers, Immediate Past Chair
    Dr. Gregory D. Little,
    Superintendent, Ex–Officio
  • Mr. John C. Butler, Chief Financial Officer, Ex–Officio

  • Executive Director

    • Julie Anderson Washburn, Ex–Officio

Board Members

  • Mr. Rutu P. Bhonslé
  • Mrs. Alecia W. Clamp, Teacher of the Year
  • Mrs. Anne Marie Green
  • Dr. William H. Harman
  • Ms. Lisa Hayes
  • Ms. MeLisa H. Herndon
  • Mr. Bryan C. Jones
  • Mrs. Laura S. McMahan
  • Mrs. Alisha J. Millwood
  • Dr. Edward G. Mintz
  • Mrs. Lisa McMeekin Phillips
  • Dr. Brent M. Powers
  • Mr. Robert Christopher Rice
  • Mr. Troy A. Simpson
  • Mrs. Cynthia S. Smith
  • Dr. Thomas F. Trinkner

Board Members Emeriti

  • Mr. James Compton
  • Dr. Karl E. Fulmer
  • Mr. Richard J. Hook
  • Mr. Michael S. Wingard
  • Mr. Michael V. Shealy