Lexington District One announces Teacher of the Year finalists

Feb 06 2019

Lexington County School District One proudly announces its 10 finalists for District Teacher of the Year: Carolina Springs Elementary Second-Grade Teacher Adrew H. Luangxay, Forts Pond Elementary Third-Grade Teacher Brandon P. Brantly, Lake Murray Elementary Fourth-Grade Teacher Tricia M. Huff, Meadow Glen Elementary Third-Grade Teacher Rebecca R. Goodson, Meadow Glen Middle Sixth-Grade Math Teacher Tracey W. West, New Providence Elementary First-Grade Teacher Jennie S. King, Oak Grove Elementary 5-Year Old Kindergarten Teacher Michelle S. Morrow, Pleasant Hill Middle Dance Teacher Shannon B. Canady, River Bluff High Social Studies Teacher Linsy H. Dooley and White Knoll High Science Teacher Deidre G. Pukl.

Each day, these dedicated teachers empower their students to design the future. Poised and articulate teachers, they possess a superior ability to impart knowledge to and inspire students with a love of learning; keep abreast of current educational theories and practices through professional development; devote time and energy to activities that improve instruction for children; show examples of innovative practices in their classrooms; contribute to the field of education by conducting seminars and workshops, and by supporting fellow teachers in their professional development; have the respect and admiration of students, parents and co-workers; and play active roles in their communities and schools.

In the fall, the certified staff at each of Lexington County School District One’s 30 schools chose a certified teacher to represent them in the district’s 2018–2019 Teacher of the Year selection process. Those 30 Teachers of the Year completed written applications, which were read and scored by six teams of judges using an established rubric.

The district has 17 elementary schools, seven middle schools and five high schools reflected in the three elementary teams, two middle-level teams and one high school team. The teachers with the highest application scores from the six teams became finalists, resulting in 10 finalists.

Judging continues for these 10 finalists in three categories — paperwork, interview and classroom observation until one of these finalists becomes the new District Teacher of the Year.

The 7 P.M. celebration of all the district’s Teachers of the Year and the announcement of the district’s new District Teacher of the Year takes place Thursday, April 11, 2019, at the Lexington One Performing Arts Center located on the campus of Lexington High School.