Lexington District One celebrates 30 Teachers of the Year

Oct 24 2018

The certified staff at each of Lexington County School District One’s 30 schools recently chose one certified teacher to represent them in the district’s 2018–2019 Teacher of the Year selection process. Each day, these dedicated teachers empower their students to design the future.

This year’s school-level honorees include Carolina Springs Elementary Second-Grade Teacher Adrew H. Luangxay, Carolina Springs Middle Digital Literacy Teacher Monica D. Willis, Deerfield Elementary Fifth-Grade Teacher Melissa S. George, Forts Pond Elementary Third-Grade Teacher Brandon P. Brantly, Gilbert Elementary Fifth-Grade Teacher Amber R. Buzhardt, Gilbert High Lead English Teacher Josephine K. Price, Gilbert Middle Sixth-Grade Mathematics Teacher Bonnie G. Phillips, Gilbert Primary 5-Year-Old Kindergarten Partial Immersion Teacher Donnelle J. Glatz, Lake Murray Elementary Fourth-Grade Teacher Tricia M. teachers of the yearHuff, Lexington Elementary First-Grade Teacher Ashlee B. Young, Lexington High Resource Teacher Caroleanne M. Anderson, Lexington Middle Computer Education Teacher Lois A. Byars, Lexington Technology Center Cosmetology Teacher Carol Ann Brown; Meadow Glen Elementary Third-Grade Teacher Rebecca R. Goodson, Meadow Glen Middle Sixth-Grade Math Teacher Tracey W. West, Midway Elementary Fourth-Grade Teacher Laura P. Locklair, New Providence Elementary First-Grade Teacher Jennie S. King, Oak Grove Elementary 5-Year-Old Kindergarten Teacher Michelle S. Morrow, Pelion Elementary First-Grade Teacher Heather A. Bradwell, Pelion High Science Teacher Peggy S. Benefield, Pelion Middle Eighth-Grade English Language Arts Teacher Holley H. Matthews, Pleasant Hill Elementary Fifth-Grade Teacher Ellen S. Farmer, Pleasant Hill Middle Dance Teacher Shannon B. Canady, Red Bank Elementary Interventionist Jamee M. Childs, River Bluff High Social Studies Teacher Linsy H. Dooley, Rocky Creek Elementary First-Grade Teacher Meredith M. Gray, Saxe Gotha Elementary Third-Grade Teacher Shamala S. Jennings Anderson, White Knoll Elementary Art Teacher Angela H. Zokan, White Knoll High Science Teacher Deidre G. Pukl and White Knoll Middle Eighth-Grade English Language Arts Teacher W. Clay Crawford.

These poised and articulate teachers possess a superior ability to impart knowledge to and inspire students with a love of learning.

They keep abreast of current educational theories and practices through professional development; devote time and energy to activities that improve instruction for children; show examples of innovative practices in their classrooms; contribute to the field of education by conducting seminars and workshops, and supporting fellow teachers in their professional development; have the respect and admiration of students, parents and co-workers; and play active roles in their communities and schools.

In the coming weeks, five teams of judges — three elementary, one middle and one high school — will use an established rubric to read and score a written application completed by each Teacher of the Year. Identifying two Teachers of the Year with the highest application scores from each of the five teams results in 10 finalists.

Judges then assess the 10 finalists again in three categories — paperwork, interview and classroom observation — to determine the District Teacher of the Year.

The 7 p.m. celebration of all of the Teachers of the Year and the announcement of the new District Teacher of the Year takes place Thursday, April 11, 2018, at the Lexington One Performing Arts Center located on the campus of Lexington High School.