Who’s Running for School Board?

Oct 15 2018

The Lexington County Commission of Registration and Elections let us know that six Lexington County School District One residents are running for a seat on the Board of Trustees. There are three at-large seats. 

That election takes place on General Election Day, Nov. 6, 2018. 

The six individuals running for office are:

Jada Boatwright Garris
Richard Kyle Guyton
Reese Lassiter McCurdy
Robert Christopher Rice
Timothy Franklin Oswald
Kevin Scott Vaughan (withdrawn)

Staff, parents and community members reached out to us in search of information about each of the candidates. As a result, we created a survey with 12 questions and invited each candidate to enter their information and to send us a photograph. If you click on their names above, you will see those questions and answers.

Here is a timeline of this election process.

In addition, School Improvement Councils in each attendance area will host candidate forums. Any Lexington County School District One resident can attend any of the scheduled forums. We currently have the following dates and locations:

Oct. 18, 2018 — 6:30 p.m. at Pelion High School

Oct. 22, 2018 — 6:30 p.m. at Gilbert High School

Oct. 28, 2018 —  2:30 p.m. at Lexington High School 

Nov. 4, 2018 — 2:30 p.m. at River Bluff High School Law Center