Return to Headlines

Lexington One honors 31 school-level Teachers of the Year

Lexington County School District One’s 31 schools recently chose one certified educator to represent them in the district’s 2023–24 Teacher of the Year selection process.

This year’s honorees are Beechwood Middle’s Angela C. Kruger, Carolina Springs Elementary’s Alison S. Young, Carolina Springs Middle’s Sonora B.J. Williams, Centerville Elementary’s Pamela B. Glover, Deerfield Elementary’s Nicole M. Barker, Forts Pond Elementary’s Bethany S. Bastedo, Gilbert Elementary’s Morgan F. Humphries, Gilbert High’s Mihaela Gutu, Gilbert Middle’s Jessica V. Handy, Lake Murray Elementary’s Ashley S. Kendall, Lakeside Middle’s Erin F. Smith, Lexington Elementary’s Alysa B. Smith, Lexington High’s Ashley J. Miller, Lexington Technology Center’s Melissa E. Boehler, Meadow Glen Elementary’s Michael R. Frank, Meadow Glen Middle’s Jenny H. Farmer, Midway Elementary’s Kelly K. Parker, New Providence Elementary’s Jessica Allen, Oak Grove Elementary’s Cheryl L. Bartolotti, Pelion Elementary’s Evan L. Thompson, Pelion High’s Jesse Zeaser, Pelion Middle’s Angela N. Arthur, Pleasant Hill Elementary’s Catherine K. Hood, Pleasant Hill Middle’s Mallory L. Huffstetler, Red Bank Elementary’s Yenobis Co Amundaray De Galan, River Bluff High’s Benjamin R. Lee, Rocky Creek Elementary’s Brittany H. Talwin, Saxe Gotha Elementary’s Jane Eliza A. Chisholm, White Knoll Elementary’s Caroline Wallace, White Knoll High’s Dr. Craig D. Wheatley and White Knoll Middle’s Dr. Christen T. Legette.

These poised and articulate educators possess a superior ability to impart knowledge to students and inspire them to love learning. They keep abreast of current educational theories and practices through professional development; devote time and energy to activities that improve instruction for children; show examples of innovative practices in their classrooms; contribute to the field of education by conducting seminars and workshops and supporting fellow teachers; earn the respect and admiration of students, parents and co-workers; and play active roles in their communities and schools.

They will now be judged again in two categories — written application and classroom observation. One of 31 teachers of the year becomes the district TOY for the 2023–24 school year.

The celebration of all school-level Teachers of the Year and the announcement of the district’s new Teacher of the Year takes place Tuesday, March 26, 2024, at the Lexington One Performing Arts Center at White Knoll High School.