Return to Headlines

Lexington District One honors 31 school-level Teachers of the Year

Lexington County School District One’s 31 schools recently chose one certified educator to represent them in the district’s 2022–23 Teacher of the Year selection process.

This year’s honorees are Beechwood Middle’s Jason E. McCullough, Carolina Springs Elementary’s Dr. Tamela D. Jett, Carolina Springs Middle’s Sarah B. Jorgenson, Centerville Elementary’s Crystal B. Mills, Deerfield Elementary’s Brian A. French, Forts Pond Elementary’s Jennifer M. White, Gilbert Elementary’s Mackenzie D. Hall, Gilbert High’s Lisa L. Wills, Gilbert Middle’s C. Alexander Bedenbaugh, Lake Murray Elementary’s Katherine J. Handell, Lakeside Middle’s Tiffany Fields, Lexington Elementary’s Erin K. McMillan, Lexington High’s Megan G. Small, Lexington Technology Center’s Antonio M. Ferreira, Meadow Glen Elementary’s Neil P. Nadkarni, Meadow Glen Middle’s Trudie Montgomery, Midway Elementary’s Hope J. Lloyd, New Providence Elementary’s C. Andrew Brooks, Oak Grove Elementary’s Harley F. Shelton, Pelion Elementary’s Casey D. Hill, Pelion High’s Anne E. Randall-Fulmer, Pelion Middle’s Christopher K. Johnson, Pleasant Hill Elementary’s Jennifer H. Taylor, Pleasant Hill Middle’s Lori L. McKelvey, Red Bank Elementary’s Maria Jose Sabillon Andonie, River Bluff High’s J. Ben Watson, Rocky Creek Elementary’s Paula R. Langdale, Saxe Gotha Elementary’s Kimberly A. Lewis, White Knoll Elementary’s Rhonda M. Sheldon, White Knoll High’s Cheryl B. Felder and White Knoll Middle’s Suzette M. Hawkins.

These poised and articulate educators possess a superior ability to impart knowledge to students and inspire them to love learning. They keep abreast of current educational theories and practices through professional development; devote time and energy to activities that improve instruction for children; show examples of innovative practices in their classrooms; contribute to the field of education by conducting seminars and workshops and supporting fellow teachers; earn the respect and admiration of students, parents and co-workers; and play active roles in their communities and schools.

They now complete written applications, which will be read and scored by six teams of judges using an established rubric. Two Teachers of the Year with the highest application scores from each elementary team, one from each middle school team and two from the high school team become finalists, resulting in 10 finalists. The 10 finalists will be judged again in three categories — paperwork, interview and classroom observation. One of these finalists becomes the district TOY for the 2023–24 school year.

The celebration of all school-level Teachers of the Year and the announcement of the district’s new Teacher of the Year takes place Thursday, March 30, 2023, at the Lexington One Performing Arts Center at Lexington High School.